The Kyrgyz Republic (Kirghizia)

The Kyrgyz Republic stretches from the west to the east for 900km, from the north to the south for 410km and is located approximately between 39° и 43° of northern latitude covering the area of 199,9 thousand km 2.

It borders with Kazakhstan on its north, with Uzbekistan on its west, south-west with Tajikistan and in the south-east with China.


The population of Kyrgyztstan is estimated to be 5 777 570 people by 2014. Those of Kyrguz ethnicity make up 72,6%, Uzbeks are 14,5% and Russians – 6,4%. There are more than 80 different nationalities living in Kyrgyzstan. The urban population of Kyrgyzstan is 33,6% and the rural is 66,4% (2013).

Capital City

The city of Bishkek is a political, economical, scientific, administrative, historical and cultural centre, a place of location for many government offices, diplomatic missions, representatives of international organizations.
It was founded in 1878.
The territory of the city is 127,3km2.
Population of Bishkek is 894,6 thousand people.


State language is Kyrgyz. Many business and political affairs are carried out in Russian.

Life Expectancy

Average life expectancy is 66 years for men and 74 for women (2012).

Form of Government

Unitary parliamentary republic


The President of Kyrgyzstan is the head of state and the highest official of Kyrgyzstan elected for 6 years term. The same candidate cannot be elected twice. The office of President is open to all citizens of Kyrgyzstan, who are no younger than 35 years of age, and no older than 65 years of age. A candidate must have a command of the state language, and have resided in the Republic for no less than 15 years before the nomination of his or her candidacy for the position.

Almazbek Atambayev was elected a President of the Kyrgyz Republic in 2011.

Prime Minister

The Prime Minister of Kyrgyzstan is the head of government of Kyrgyzstan. Until 2010, the President was in a stronger position than the Prime Minister in Kyrgyzstan, but after the 2010 constitutional referendum, the state transitioned to a parliamentary system, placing greater power in parliament and the cabinet at the expense of the president.

The president is allowed to appoint the Prime Minister temporarily, and his appointment is known as the acting Prime Minister. The acting Prime Minister becomes a full Prime Minister by being confirmed by the Supreme Council(parliament). The Prime Minister then forms the cabinet.

Djoomart Otorbaev was nominated a Prime Minister of the Kyrgyz Republic in April 2014.

Parliament – Jokorgu Kenesh

Jokorgu Kenesh is the unicameral Parliament of Kyrgyzstan. It has 120 seats with members elected for a five-year term by party-list proportional voting. One needs to be a citizen of Kyrgyzstan of 21 years old and more having a voting right to be nominated for the post of the chairman.

State Symbols

Flag, Coat of arms

Provinces and Districts

Kyrgystan comprises of 7 provinces and two independent cities.

Chuy province
It covers the area of 20,200 km2. There are 4 towns and 5 urban-type settlements, 331 villages.

Talas province
It covers 11,400km2. There is one town, 1 urban-type settlement and 90 villages.

Issyk-Kul province
It covers 43,100 km2. There are 3 towns, 5 urban-type settlements and 181 villages.

Naryn province
It covers 45,200km2. There are 3 towns, 2 urban-type settlements and 132 villages.

Osh province
It covers 29,20 km2. There are 3 towns, 2 urban-type settlements and 467 villages.

Jalal-Abad province
It covers 33,7 km2. There are 5 towns, 8 urban-type settlements and 415 villages.

Batken province
It covers 17,000 km2. There are 3 towns, 5 urban-type settlements and 189 villages.

In December 2013, two laws were passed that appointed Bishkek and the city of Osh as administratively independent cities with a status equal to a province.